Who do you love more; me or dad?

photo credit: <a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/97335141@N00/3287638545/">MissMessie</a> via <a href="http://photopin.com">photopin</a> <a href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/">cc</a>

photo credit: MissMessie via photopin cc

Everyone lets you believe that sons gravitate towards their mothers, while daughters love their fathers more. Although as a parent you treat both your children equally, love them equally, a small, selfish part of you always strives to secretly be more loved than the father 😉 . Tell me I’m not wrong.

In this vein, after unexpectedly spending a longish weekend with my children (which my school-going daughter thoroughly enjoyed as her mommy had holidays too like her) I felt I had earned the right to be more loved than my busy husband. I was thrilled to find my daughter insisting 2 mornings in a row that mommy should bathe her & feed her, which was new as daddy was her all-time favourite. So the smug me went on indulging her, and at the end of the day asked her diplomatically, why was she choosing me over daddy. So sure was I of a favourable answer that I chose to ask this is the presence of my husband.

‘I want you to do everything for me mom because your t-shirt is same colour as mins. Matching- matching’. Simple.

That’s when I realised that children don’t take sides, don’t hold anything against you. They live in the moment, in today, in right now, and are so happy in their world.

And don’t choose favourites either!

P.S. I think I’ll try again in a few years with my son when he’s old enough to answer.

 

Leave a Reply

