What is better-Quanity v/s Quality time spent with your kids

photo credit: <a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/video4net/4101858860/">PeterJBellis</a> via <a href="http://photopin.com">photopin</a> <a href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/2.0/">cc</a>

photo credit: PeterJBellis via photopin cc

All my life I have heard that Quality time is better than Quality time. And now as a working parent I see it talked of and practised even more. How busy parents spend concentrated 2 hours with their kids, and feel it is productive & efficient.

I however, don’t agree. I have been a stay at home mother and a working mother, so, I can say I have experienced it from both sides. I feel that for my daughter there is only 1 time- her time with me.

She doesn’t care how I tried to make the small quantum of time spent with her more educative/ fun/ involved etc… These are big words which have no place in a 3 year old’s dictionary. And she has no semblance of time, so it doesn’t matter. Its either ‘morning time’ or ‘night time’ and everything in between is conveniently misplaced J. She is the happiest when we are together, even doing the most mundane & not-so-glamorous things like making chappatis (bread) together with her perched on the kitchen counter, or helping me fold laundry, or buying fruits with her faaavoorite (favourite) being pommoganate (pomegranate)! She just wants me to be around, with her as the centre of my universe….doing what doesn’t matter.

This makes me believe that it is all about quantity time, not quality.

Leave a Reply

